Skip to content

March to Seven Wonders

“March to Seven Wonders” to be realised in the autumn 2023 links together the worlds of military music and musical theatre in a way never experienced before.

For the first time ever, the Defence Forces will realise a show written and directed by Samuel Harjanne and Petrus Kähkönen  showcasing unparalleled military music skills.  The audience will enjoy vigorous figure marching, virtuosic skills by drum sections and percussion instrument players, a fantastic rifle drill team show and versatile orchestration for brass band to string ensemble and big band music.   

The March to Seven Wonders spectacle opens up an exciting video game world in the setting of the Antiquity’s seven wonders in the Mediterranean region. The five main characters, who are game characters, set off to investigate the disappearance of Zeus’ statue, exploring the milieus of the seven wonders of the Antiquity.  Tampere University of Applied Sciences musical theatre students will perform as actors and vocalists. 

In addition to musicians from across the entire military music  branch, children’s and youth orchestras from each locality where the show will take place will also perform on this Defence Forces’ nation-wide tour.  Youth bands including the Rantasalmi Wind Band, Rauma boys’ band (Rauman poikasoittokunta) and the Hamina and Kotka region wind orchestra (Haminan ja Kotkan seudun puhallinorkesteri) have each been assigned to perform their figure march at a given show. 
The tour will be conducted at seven localities across Finland.  At each locality, the Defence Forces will offer pupils and teachers of groups free entry to matinees.  

This is your chance to be amazed!

    March to Seven Wonders 
Tue 22 Aug 2023 at 19.00 Kivikylän Areena, Rauma
Thu 24 Aug 2023 at 19.00 Vaasan Sähkö Areena, Vaasa 
Mon 28 Aug 2023 at 19.00 Energia-areena, Oulu 
Wed 30 Aug 2023 at 19.00 Olvi Areena, Kuopio 
Fri 1 Sep 2023 at 19.00 Joensuu Areena, Joensuu 
Tue 5 Sep 2023 at 19.00 Ikioma Areena, Mikkeli 
Thu 7 Sep 2023 at 19.00 Helsinki Ice Hall, Helsinki 

Working team
Artistic direction  Pasi-Heikki Mikkola
Screenplay and direction Samuel Harjanne and Petrus Kähkönen
Music composed by Timo Forsström
Songs composed and lyrics by Onni Lonka
Lighting and video design by Toni Haaranen
Sound design by Raine Kasper