Skip to content

Karelia Quintet

The Karelia Quintet is a chamber music ensemble consisting of four woodwind instruments, the flute, oboe, clarinet and bass clarinet, and the French horn.

The earliest wind quintets date back to the Classical period, during which Franz Danzi and Antonin Reicha composed a wealth of material for the ensemble. Later notable composers for the wind quintet include Carl Nielsen and Ferenc Farkas, and the Finns Joonas Kokkonen, Kalevi Aho and Atso Almila. A wide variety of music from concert pieces and church music to popular music and jazz have been arranged for the wind quintet. The Karelia Quintet is particularly skilled in devotional and classical music.